top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturekrichelleogenic

Meeting new friends…



On January 22, 2019 at around 9:00 AM, Ibu Sri Lestari, a coordinator from UNIPMA, visited me at the dorm to clarify our schedules and the topics that will be taught at the high school where I was sent to teach. After, John Lynton and I finally had a glimpse inside the Gor Cendekia, a UNIPMA Sports Center.



I have found out that the said center provide fairly complete sports facilities such as the futsal field, badminton court, volleyball court, table tennis area, rock climbing, prayer room, sports shop, and a large parking area. It is so spacious that not only the students from UNIPMA are the ones only being accommodated, but also people from the community.


After, we visited the one of the canteens near in UNIPMA at 9:40 AM. I am so thankful as our buddies, Bayu Renaldy and Thoriq (whom I just only met today), prepared our food for our brunch – a chicken liver, noodles, hotdog, rice and a chocolate drink. It was quite a new experience for me; I was surprised as the students were allowed to help Mbak or the seller to prepare. I have learned that through such, they could practice themselves in helping someone.

At 10:00 AM I felt so fortunate as we were able to watch the different dances of Indonesia, one of it is called Wutukala Traditional Dance which is originated at West Papua, Indonesia. The dancers were students of the Bachelor of Elementary Education from UNIPMA, considering that they are future teachers, they are really good at dancing.



The dances were so unique that even our buddy, Thoriq, can differentiate the dances and where these dances came from.




Moreover, we visited the International Office and met Agita and saw Bapak Sigit again. They warmly welcomed us at the university! After then, Deta (whom I just met today also) and Thoriq introduced the different campuses of UNIPMA.



At 8:00 in the evening, our fellow SEA teachers arrived and finally I met Patcharida Phonsombat whose nickname is Dream and Somratchai also known as Anders from Thailand, and from Philippines, my fellow Filipinos, Ruth and Eldimar. The day ended as the SEA Teachers delegates of UNIPMA have been completed! I have now my official roommates! :D

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page