top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturekrichelleogenic

Flying for new experiences...

Updated: Mar 11, 2019

“The most important attitude that can be formed is that of desire to go on learning.” - John Dewey

I must say that January 20, 2019 is one of the longest days that I have ever had so far, yet it was amazing. The Universe simply had given me the chance to experience several 'first times' in just a day. Yes, a person can experience different things in a day but I assure you this day is surprisingly perfect.


On January 19, 2019, after spending almost 8 hours traveling from our town, San Nicolas, Ilocos Norte to Manila, we (John Lynton Arucan, a fellow SEA Teacher) reached Manila Bayview Hotel to stay there for a while to get some rest and prepare ourselves for an early flight on January 20.



Thus, at 6:30 AM of January 20, our plane had departed leaving the Ninoy Aquino International Airport (NAIA) in Philippines – my first ever plane ride. I was quite nervous as we needed to pass the Immigration Office but thanks to the documents and files that I and my coordinators have prepared; I was able to continue my journey – my first ever Immigration Office question and answer experience.



We had a layover at the Kuala Lumpur International Airport, and so we took this chance to experience the Malaysia KFC, at 4:30 PM we departed – first time to spend Malaysian ringgit.


Then, we arrived at the Juanda International Airport at 8:00 PM, but first, I was asked to go at the office of the Immigration for them to ask several questions. When I told them that I am an exchange student of the SEA Teacher Project under the Southeast Asian Ministers of Education Organization (SEAMEO) at the Universitas PGRI Madiun (UNIPMA), I met an immigration officer who studied at UNIPMA. I was amazed and thought that UNIPMA must really a big school, knowing that someone is working almost 3 hours away from the school. This made me feel more excited!



Finally, at 8:50 in the evening, we met the senior students of UNIPMA who were waiting to welcome us and who welcomed us with the Indonesian style, a big smile with twinkling eyes, Julia Magdalena Dea Putri and Bintang Firdaus. I still remember when Julia waved to us and greeted us immediately and yes, we felt like we have seen each other back then already.





They treated us some snacks and drinks at Indomaret, a famous Indonesian store like 7 Eleven. Then we went to Warung Mie Pak Tomie wherein they let us taste the very famous nasi goreng – my first nasi goreng. Nasi Goreng, literally means “fried rice”, is an Indonesian rice dish with pieces of meat and vegetables. But for the one that we have eaten, it was quite delicious as it was the stir-fried rice mixed with chicken meat, egg and meatball. As for the es teh (Iced Tea) for our drink, it was a bit unfamiliar as well to us since usually the iced tea of Philippines is sweetened. This is why Lynton and I said to each other, “It really is a tea,” because of the slightly bitter and astringent flavor it has. My first Indonesian meal is quite an experience!

We reached Madiun, East Java, Indonesia, specifically the UNIPMA Dormitory around 12:00 in the evening, and there we finally personally met Dr. Sigit Ricahyono as he welcomed us on behalf of Universitas PGRI Madiun.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page